The Vatican has announced that the Eucharist used during Roman Catholic masses must not be gluten-free.
Bread and wine are used to celebrate the Eucharist during Roman Catholic masses.
In a letter to bishops, Cardinal Robert Sarah said the bread – known as the host – was allowed to be low-gluten. But he said there must be enough protein in the wheat to make it without additives.
The new rules were needed because the bread was now sold in supermarkets and on the internet.
Roman Catholics believe bread and wine served at the Eucharist are converted into the body and blood of Christ through a process known as transubstantiation.
The wine used must also be “natural, from the fruit of the grape, pure and not mixed with other substances.”