Djokovic disqualified for hitting line umpire

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share to Google Classroom

Novak Djokovic has been disqualified from the US Open after hitting a line judge with a tennis ball.

The world number one had just lost a crucial point. In frustration he took a ball out of his pocket, and hit it behind him without looking, striking the line judge in her neck.

Djokovic was the favourite to win the US Open tournament. He will now lose all the ranking points and won’t be given any prize money he had won at the tournament.

After the match he said he was “extremely sorry to have caused her such stress. So unintended. So wrong.”

It means the Serbian will have to wait a little longer to win an 18th Grand Slam title. He’s currently one behind Rafael Nadal and two behind Roger Federer on the men’s all-time list of winners.

9 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

In the spirit of Christmas, CableTV in the USA, is...
There’s a new genius in town, and she’s only 2...
In a hair-raising tale from Uttar Pradesh, India, meet Smita...
In a bizarre incident in Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia,...

World & National News

Spring temperatures across New Zealand this year were higher than...
I ngā rā whakatā, i hui ngā whānau Māori ki...
In a groundbreaking move towards sustainability, Air New Zealand has...
Protests have been carried out around New Zealand in response...